Sennheiser IE8 Impressions (coming from PFE)
Nov 26, 2009 at 9:59 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 20

syn_fx

100+ Head-Fier
I've been into portable hi-fi for quite some time, and thought I'd finally get around to writing something about a recent purchase. There are a lot of reviews describing the sonic characteristics of the IE8, describing the lows, mids, and highs - so I won't go into that, and instead will talk only about my impressions .

Short Background:

I'm an economics student in London, UK, in my second year.

My IEM history consists of the Sony EX70s, Etymotic ER-6is, Denon C700s, Phonak PFEs, and now the Senns. I have extensively auditioned a number of cans (inc Grado GS1000s), and quite a few lower end IEMs (through friends).

I play bass guitar in a latin and blues band, and listen to a very broad variety of music ranging from classical, jazz, blues, acoustic, vocal and latin to DnB and heavy metal. My sources are a Sony NW series laptop (with a pretty horrific sound card) and the Sony S639 - a fantastic portable player. My library is in VBR lame from FLAC.

To the impressions:

I decided to get the IE8s following the death of my second pair of PFEs, IEMs that I really liked and found to be significantly better than my previous IEMs.

I originally listened to the PFEs with grey tips and amped through a Fiio E5, but eventually dropped the E5 for practicality. How I didn't find the PFEs with gray tips harsh, I don't know - I rememer trying them unamped when I first got them and wincing - I guess ears adjust over time. I've had the PFEs over 1 year, and they have been put through a lot of use, so I'll be comparing the IE8s to them.

Originally, I heard the IE8s at a friends house, and having listened to them for about 5 minutes, thought that they were horrifically bloated, and lacking detail compared to the PFEs...

However in the end I bit the bullet and got them - after 10 hours my ears have adjusted, and these are my impressions: