Sennheiser HD650 newbie Questions First time purchasing DAC, AMP
Nov 23, 2013 at 5:02 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 3

youngguitar

New Head-Fier
Hi after spending 10 hours reading through forum I am still so confused and dont  fully understand about what are Tube, solid, AMP, DAC.. ... etc I dont really need a full answer or explanation, I just need some advise on what should i purchase between 100-170$. In future i might increase the budget but I just spend a lot for the hd650 already. :frowning2:

I just ordered the Sennheiser HD650. I previously own the Hd595 and Triplefi 10 and Those headphone dont need DAC or AMP so This is my first time purchasing DAC AMP.....

I wonder if DAC and AMP are sepperate divide or they are the same thing?. For example Is the Fiio E17 a DAC or AMP?? and why the Fiio 09 + 017 would sound better than the 17 itself???

I will use my laptop dell latitude E6230(It is an 12inch laptop so i dont think the sound card is good) and samsung galaxy s4 to listen to music I wonder what should i purchase. My budget is from 100-170.  I prefer something portable but I am ok with the destop setup as I will only listen to music in my apartment and will not bring the headphone anywhere else. After reading through a lot of topic I think the Fiio e17 is what i need but i just want to make sure i got it right :p. and Do i need to get the Fiio 09 as well and what the different between combo e09+e17 vs E17 itself. 

Please give me a clear answer like since this is my first time so I dont know much and it is so confused.
: Laptop/Phone ->"type of cable like usb-to-miniusb or normap 3.5mm output ext"-> "AMP-Name"->HD650 .

I also have a few newbie question if you dont have time please just tell me what to do :D i dont really need an explanation.