Sennheiser HD-280 pro OR Sony-MDR7506 (v6)?
Jun 8, 2003 at 3:23 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 29

mitaic

New Head-Fier
I am new at DJing, and in need of a new pair of cans. I've narrowed it
down to two choices: Sennheiser HD-280 pro and Sony-MDR7506

The 7506 has been around forever and you see them everywhere so their
quality I have no doubt. It's being dicontinued however, and it's
US$10 (street) more expensive than the HD-280 pro. I've tried both
models and liked the sound of both almost equally because they have
different responses. 7506 sound more live whereas the HD-280 is
flatter, which I probably don't mind. I am also interested in HD-280s
isolating capability because I am also intending to use it to listen
to my portables on the subway.

so I'm torn between the two. I primarily want this to be for DJ
purposes, but also listening to other types of music, watching TV,
etc. Which one should I choose?

Jun 8, 2003 at 3:57 PM Post #4 of 29
50/50? haha.. that's not helping. I guess another consideration is isolation. I was recommended the Senns to protect my ears. Also I'll probably bring them along on my daily subway ride which isolation would be a big plus.

Here's my review for what it is worth:
(sony mdr-v700, sony mdr-v600, sony mdr-7506, and sennheiser hd-280pro. The cans were plugged in to a Pioneer DJM-600.)

sound quality:
My rank for sound quality was topped by the sony 7506. Pretty impeccable sound. Sony v600's not too bad, either. Sennheiser had a flatter freq curve as predicted, but needed a little bit more power to drive the mid-bass range. The v700 was horrible; distortion was all over the place.

Portability:
also easily won by sony 7506. It's the smallest among the four when folded. The others are fine. The sennheiser 280 was a little bit bigger (for a reason, though).

Isolation: