Senheisser CX 300 -- can it really be THIS muffled?
Nov 8, 2008 at 7:05 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

DunninLA

100+ Head-Fier
Hi,

I'm new to portable so I don't have much to compare the CX 300s I bought on ebay with much else besides my Sennheiser HD 560 w. 650 cable, and a new HD 580 with Headphile cable. Brand New Sennheiser CX300 Black Headphones - eBay (item 280275709039 end time Oct-14-08 22:46:19 PDT)

I also bought a few $5-$7 buds to see what those are like: three from Panasonic. These all sound reasonably balanced out of an iTouch Gen1, and a 30 year old Sony ES cd player with a decent headphone out. Sometimes I do use the Touch's "Bass Boost" eq selection on the buds. I also bought the Sennheiser PX 100 and a $10 Panasonic on top of the ear foam type. I can find something I like about every phone for its price point ....

But not these CX300s. they sound like the band is in another room altogther. With the Touch's Treble Booster they actually sound OK, but still very pulled back mids/highs. OK I guess for very extended listening since they appear to be sins of ommission rather than commission (they are not irritating in any way).

so, could these be fakes? I've looked carefully at the packaging and the phones themselves and the phones seem identical to those on the TTVJ website for $60.

Is it possible they're real and the CX 300s really sound that muffled? Or maybe Sennheiser's quality control takes phones that messed up and distribute them through ebay sellers??

I considered the possibility that maybe my ears are losing HF sensitivity except for the fact that I find a lot of phones too bright!

Thanks.

Nov 8, 2008 at 7:56 PM Post #2 of 12
going from high end headphones to low end ones is always going to be painful, id never go back to using low quality (cx300) headphones for everyday use.

this is why its different for unfortunate folks that stay with the stock phones. what are they missing out on eh?? lol