Seeking recommendations for office use, ~$300 US
Jun 28, 2018 at 4:56 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

LayaboutProvocateur

New Head-Fier
Last month I finished my first real audio setup, picking up a HD6XX and R2R-11 for home use, and I'm in love. I'm hoping to find a lower-cost solution that I can use at work. My first thought was to pick up a second 6XX and a Dragonfly or Fulla 2, but I think IEMs might be a better solution. Here are my priorities:
  • Source: Tidal/Spotify from PC, through onboard motherboard audio. At work I won't have the option to add a sound card. Genre is all over the place tbh, but I especially appreciate the rumbly bits in both electronic and classical.
  • Sound quality: I'm quite new to this, so I don't have the most discerning audio palate. I want to be impressed, but that might not be a very high bar.
  • Microphone: I spend a fair amount of time on conference calls, which, from what I can tell, makes either an ADC for inline mics or a separate microphone a requirement.
  • Isolation: It's a large office, so yes please.
  • Subtlety: It's a large office, so a less ostentatious setup would make me feel better.
  • Price: Sweet spot is $250-300 for the whole setup, with some flexibility. Anything above $400 would be a difficult sell.
  • Location: US/Chicago, if that helps. Don't mind waiting for drops/shipping, as long as they're reliable.
The Massdrop Plus sound like they would be amazing, but they don't leave much room in the budget for a dac/amp. EDC3 was my next thought, before I realized I needed to figure out how to connect the microphone, and then I felt out of my depth and thought that surely someone who knows more than I do has worked this problem before. Here's hoping!

Jun 28, 2018 at 6:39 PM Post #2 of 9