Seeking assistance in deciding between an entry level audiophile headphone and (DAC/AMP), or a headset, for use mostly in gaming, music and movies.
Oct 24, 2013 at 11:24 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

jjpresturd

New Head-Fier
It's rare that I join, or contribute to forums, I have a habit of only reading them, so this is fun - greetings!

I am new to audio. That being said, I do have a set of Sennheiser HD208s, have an old Logitech surround sound system,
and consider myself to be a closet audiophile who never quite made the leap. What's more on that regard, I am on a budget.
Being a college student has that effect.

Still, I've spent a long time now browsing forums, such as this one, and am becoming more familiar with what is out there. My
intent is to have something to use as a headset, or a headphone and mic combo, a search which began with what seems to be
the poor quality of Razor audio products. Quickly that notion was dispelled, and I began a search for something more worth my
while.

I struck Sennheiser with the PC350 (se), PC360, PC363, and so on...

I'm familiar with most Sennheiser products, anywhere from the HD280pro, to the arguments between the HD555/595 and HD558/598.
I've seen comparisons that weigh in the direction of Audio-Technica AD700s, etc.

Anyways, my goal here is to figure out if a headphone, such as the HD558/598 with a seperate mic and DAC/AMP, for at or below the $200
price range (the headphone, not DAC/AMP or mic), will be a better choice, or whether simply a headset would be wiser.

I initially was turned on to the 7.1 surround sound stuff with headsets, but have begun moving away from that idea; first, because of the
lack of true surround sound with single drivers, and second because even the virtual surround seems to be dedicated to the gaming, and
lacks in all other areas.

Well, I feel like I've said too much about too little!

Oct 25, 2013 at 12:44 AM Post #2 of 10
Sennheiser HD558, $130