Searching for Inexpensive Cans
Apr 7, 2008 at 6:37 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

Sabre X

New Head-Fier
Tuna Cans.

Heh, actually i'm trying to decide between a few different pairs of headphones, and you people seem to be experts, so I was hoping you could help me out.

I'm looking for a pair with a maximum pricetag of 100$ (since i'm a jobless student). They would be used mostly for my computer to watch movies/DVDs, and for the bus while i'm tripping down to Uni.

At first I thought abou open audiophiles because the sound is apparently much better, but because i'm going to be using them on a bus, I think closed would be more practical. I'm looking for big over the head cans, because those little in-the -ear things never stay put.

These are the choices I have right now, and maybe you people can tell me which one is the best, and where to buy it. I was thinking Amazon, or Ebay, but a lot of the cheaper buys don't ship to Toronto. I don't have much experience with headphones, my current ones are MDR-XD100s by Sony. So any help would be great, oh and if I need to have an amp with any of the choices (if it's a neccesity I mean) then indicatng that would be great too:

Sennheiser - HD280 Pro
Audio Technica - ATH A700
Beyerdynamic - DT770

For Open I was thinking the Sennheiser - HD555, but again I would prefer not to resort to open 'phones.

I know that there isn't one headphone brand that is "better", because it all depends on preference. But my preference is basically whatever enriches the home movie experience.

Thanks.

Apr 7, 2008 at 7:00 PM Post #2 of 12
I would probably go with the Sennheisers. I've never heard the Audio Technicas. The Beyers are good but will probably require an amp unless you get the 80 ohm version. Even then I don't know where you'd find a pair of DT770's for $100 or less. Most I've seen charge in the neighborhood of $200 or more.