se530 vs er-4s vs livewires
Oct 27, 2007 at 12:12 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 17

essasin

Head-Fier
After a whole week of looking through reviews and reading the forums, I wanted to share my experience of choosing the right set of iems for myself and perhaps it will shed some light for those in the same situation. I am a pianist and a french hornist that is involved in music but it's not my career so I don't need the high end of the spectrum, but I at the same time I want a solid set that I would enjoy. I also will be using these iems to workout and use with my everyday doings. Basically I wanted a set of mobile in ear cans to be jack of all trades for me. Half the time I will be plugged into viable sources but the other have I will be listening to my ipod touch. (I know but I love the UI).

So I narrowed it down to three choices and chose one. UE's where not a choice because of user reviews about the mids being outshone by the great high's and low's.

se530
- warm characteristic output, some say its muddy, some say its perfect
- visceral, more pronounced bass but some say it's less refined especially from ety users.
- treble roll off and not as accurate on highs but still smooth
- low mids are excellent and sound forward
- multi driver

The reason I didn't opt for the se530's is because it may not be the right fit for orchestral recordings and piano solos/concertos in both jazz and classical respectively. But, I am sure these will without a doubt rock with house, trance, hip hop and various mixes that are perfect for working out and just having fun..which I like to do a lot...but you can't have it all.

er-4s
- single driver with superb highs and mids that are crisp
- some say they don't produce a bottom end that suits their taste
- get better with an amp
- low mids are not as pronounced as in the se530s
- characteristically brighter sound
- flat which may be good or bad according to each user