SACD with Phones
Jul 2, 2003 at 8:18 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

WindyCityCy

100+ Head-Fier
Maybe a stupid question. I've been purposefully staying away from Audio magazines and forums for a couple of years now, but couldn't last any longer. I have no experience with SACD but as I'm putting together a phone rig I'd like to know how SACDs compare to std CDs for imaging and separation. Does it make a big difference if the SACD is played back in 2-ch vs multi-channel format? Can the SACD even be played back in multi-channel if the amp only supports L-R? I'm under the impression that not all SACDs contain both 2-ch and multi-channel recordings. I've got a HA-1 mkII and a set of DT-880s on the way and am considering adding the 963SA to the phone rig for the SACD capabilities. Maybe I should add it to my 5.1 setup instead and use my existing DVP-S7700 for the phone rig source. Thanks for any input.

Jul 2, 2003 at 11:49 AM Post #2 of 5
Most sacd's contain a 2 channel layer. Some sacd's contain
2 sacd layers, one of which may be multichannel. And some
hybrid disks contain 3 layers, one of which is a cd layer.

Of the 461 disks i have, only one has additional tracks on
the multichannel layer that is not duplicated on the 2 channel
layer.

I don't believe however that anything prevents someone
from making a single or dual layer sacd multichannel only
disk.

One of the police reissue disks contains 130 minutes of
music on 2 layers of 2 channel music.

The Dark side of the moon reissue has 3 layers, and i can
tell you for a fact that the 2 channel sacd and the multichannel
sacd layers sound very different. Whether that was the
intent or not back then, who knows.

Jul 2, 2003 at 1:49 PM Post #3 of 5
Quote:

Originally posted by kevin gilmore
The Dark side of the moon reissue has 3 layers, and i can
tell you for a fact that the 2 channel sacd and the multichannel
sacd layers sound very different. Whether that was the
intent or not back then, who knows.