REVIEW: Musiland SVDAC06
Jul 13, 2009 at 11:38 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 26

Aiml3ss

100+ Head-Fier
Musiland SVDAC06 Review

This review is about the sound quality of the device. I did not review about the functions available from the Musiland. This is coming as an edit later on. (I'm super uber busy!
wink.gif
)

2007428132323378.jpg

2007428132052851.jpg

About me: Just recently got into Hi-Fi music and equipment. I have never owned a standalone DAC or Amp prior to the 06. Basically I am a rookie when it comes to this kind of stuff. Since my ears aren't as trained as some people are on these forums my review could possible differ from person to person.

Equipment used: ATH-AD700 (100+ hours), Musiland SVDAC06 (Its been on for almost 2 weeks straight) and my trusty Macbook Pro.

The test: I listened to each song roughly 5 times each coming just from the line out on the MBP. Then I connected my 06 via USB and began to listen to the previous song. I tried to listen to the same song at roughly the same volume either it be straight from the MBP or from the MBP to the 06.

Songs: All music was ripped using Itunes into .WAV and then converted into AFLAC again using Itunes.

Third Eye Blind - Jumper

What I noticed when playing this song with the Musiland was that everything just has that extra snap. Drums sound so much more lifelike and exciting compared to the MBP line out. The kick of the bass from the drums is tighter but not so much more pronounced as I would of liked. The sibilance of Stephan Jenkins voice from the MBP was absolutely atrocious. Not anymore. The Musiland miraculously eliminates most of the sibilance that I heard. Probably the biggest improvement that I heard with the Musiland was the expansion and soundstage clarity. Yes it did improve the soundstage somewhat (Hard to believe on my AD700's) but it ABSOLUTELY improved the clarity of each instrument. Its quite amazing.