Replacing IPOD with zen or NJB3?
Dec 26, 2002 at 10:40 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

kenli729

New Head-Fier
Hi all,
I've been using a 10gb ipod (windows) for a couple of months and realized that the bass gets fuzzy at higher volumes.
I'm looking to replace it with either the Nomad ZEN or Jukebox 3.
Any recommendations?

I've used the original jukebox and the volume was way too low. Do either of these units sound better and louder than both the ipod or jukebox?

thanks,
Ken

Dec 26, 2002 at 11:12 PM Post #2 of 14
i am a big supporter of Nomad Zen. You can find much information from me by searching this forum, also visit nomadness.net Zen forums. or, just get one and see for yourself
biggrin.gif

Dec 27, 2002 at 12:17 AM Post #3 of 14
This is precisely the kind of thing that a headphone amp will improve. You should consider buying an amp instead. The bass will be stronger and tighter with an amp.

Dec 27, 2002 at 12:25 AM Post #4 of 14
Hey guys,
thanks for the reply.
But an amp would be a bit kludgey to travel with. Oddly, my minidisc portable provides better bass, but it clips off some of the treble.

I've searched thru some of the other comments here. Seems the zen or jukebox 3 has better bass and headphone output than ipod.

Can anyone confirm?
Ken

Dec 27, 2002 at 1:30 AM Post #6 of 14
Quote:

Originally posted by kenli729
I've searched thru some of the other comments here. Seems the zen or jukebox 3 has better bass and headphone output than ipod.

Can anyone confirm?

I'll confirm that. I've noticed that the lower the impedence of the headphone, the more bass the NJB3/Zen headphone out has over the iPod. It's really noticable with cheapo Sony headphones and Koss PortaPro. With the Senn HD590, the difference is very slight. The volume on the NJB3/Zen goes louder than the iPod, but not by much at all, but it drives headphones better, IMO.

What headphones are you using?

Dec 27, 2002 at 1:34 AM Post #7 of 14