Rediscovering Brahms...help?
Apr 14, 2008 at 12:30 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

nylan8301

1000+ Head-Fier
During my time as an undergraduate, I had a fervent hatred of Brahms. It was mostly due to his relationship with Clara Schumann, the wife of Robert Schumann. I held, and still hold, Schumann in high regard and I thought that Brahms had a ineffectual, intellectual affair with Clara (courtly love and all that jazz). I believe history has dug deeper since that time and found that it was more or less platonic (motherly/sisterly in a fashion).

I used to consider his music overly dramatic and somewhat "wishy-washy". I felt like I was listening to a love-sick puppy gush his soul all over the orchestra. I detested Brahms. I refused to sing anything he had composed (which did tend to frustrate my vocal instructor). Sorry if this insults any fans of Brahms. I was young, okay?!

However, upon recently hearing his works again (Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 2, in B-flat major, Op. 83), my opinion of the man has changed. I'm a little older, a little wiser, and have learned the error of my ways.

I would like to hear more works, and was wondering what you, head-fi, could offer in the way of suggestions.

Sorry this is so long,

Nylan

Apr 14, 2008 at 2:09 AM Post #2 of 8
I think that Brahms shows off his strengths most often in his chamber works, particularly the later ones. Lots of great music on this disc of trios.

His clarinet quintet is terrific. There are many recordings.

He's not known particularly for the strength of his orchestration, but nonetheless his violin concerto is extremely popular. I go hot and cold on this one, but I'm not really a concerto guy in general (with exceptions, of course).

Finally, you must of course listen to "Ein deutsches Requiem".

Apr 15, 2008 at 12:22 AM Post #5 of 8