Recommended upgrade for ADDIEM (Apple Dual Driver IEM)
Jun 7, 2019 at 9:10 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

SilentNote

100+ Head-Fier
Hi guys, I have been using the ADDIEM for about 10 years now. I love the clarity, cleanliness and analytical signature of the ADDIEM. The bass has always lacked body, although it was something I was willing to sacrifice for better detail in the mid and trebles.

Most IEM's I've auditioned since using the ADDIEM sounds muddy in comparison, which is why I kind of didn't care about upgrading anymore. I knew I'd have to spend a lot more for perhaps marginal improvements in sound quality.

Recently I am thinking about upgrading, and auditioned over 20 IEMs at a local store. The only pair that I thought was a clear upgrade is the Acoustune HS1670SS. It shares similar tonality as the ADDIEM and with substantial bass. I can be very happy with it but I want to explore more options.

The other is the Fiio FH5 which I thought was okay. Trebles are good, mids are clear with a nice warm bass. However, it does sound somewhat disjointed. While I can probably accept it, I don't think I'm going to be very happy with it long term.

So what recommendations do you have, considering that I do like the sound signature of ADDIEM very much and would like to find an upgrade with similar sound signature but with improvements to the ADDIEM's weaker bass detail. I don't mind exploring IEMs with budget above or below the Acoustune HS1570SS - as long as the sound quality meets my expectations, and that it fits well in my ears. Although, a lower price means that I can buy it sooner.

Thanks a lot guys.

Last edited:
Jul 11, 2019 at 8:15 PM Post #2 of 4
So I’ve finally found the upgrade to the addiems - Etymotic ER4SR/XR. Which actually is kind of a no brainer, but it’s really difficult to audition since not many stores carry them for audition.