Recommendations for air travel and portable DVD?
Nov 17, 2002 at 6:03 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

UrbanCowboy

New Head-Fier
I just purchased the Toshiba SD-P2000 portable DVD player and I am looking for some quality cans to use with it. I will primarily use it on an airplane.

I am considering the ER-4P's, but I've never used an earphone before and I don't know if I could tolerate it. I'm also not sure how these would do for movies vs. music. Not to mention that the price is pretty steep.

Anyone have a good recommendation for a portable DVD player?

Nov 17, 2002 at 6:13 PM Post #2 of 12
Well, for me, I like having a little quiet on an airplane. For this reason, I would try out the ER-4P and at least see if you like it. Yes, canalphones can be annoying to wear -- but I'd be willing to make that sacrifice for a little peace and quiet. I will decline to comment on how the ER-4P's actually sound, because I do not own a pair. But if you do a search for them in this forum you will see quite a few people who are enamored by them.

I'm currently trying out what are supposedly the best-isolating full size cans (the sennheiser hd280 pros), and I can tell you these probably will not block out enough jet engine noise for me. The Ety's will probably block out more than any other full size can (short of air controller headsets or something like that).

Nov 18, 2002 at 2:19 AM Post #3 of 12
The isolation you get with the Etys is great. If you do a lot of air travel, that alone is worth the cost. The sound quality is amazing, I have the ER-4S. Although I've never used them for movies, I would guess they would sound great. Vocals are outstanding with them and I would imagine dialog would be equally good. The ER-4P supposedly have more bass, which may suit movie soundtracks a little better than the 4S. The price tag is steep, but IMHO they are worth it.

Nov 18, 2002 at 6:00 AM Post #5 of 12
Quote:

Originally posted by dokebi