Received K701 as gift....amping issue
Apr 17, 2010 at 3:14 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 42

avocado

Head-Fier
Out of the blue randomly yesterday my favorite uncle bought me 701s as an early graduation present, which I'm obv ecstatic about. However...I'm a current owner of sr80s, px100s, and the esw9 - aka things that work fine unamped.

I know that this subject has been beaten to death on the forums with the general consensus being "don't get K701s unless you're willing to follow up with a good amp", but I don't want to disrespect such an awesome gift or my uncle. I'm a student on a shoestring budget (every cent I earn in the next several years will be going towards paying student loans and basic living expenses) and probably the most I can put budget for an amp is $50. Pitiful pitiful pitiful. But I figure that as a non-amp owner anything is an upgrade...right?

Was looking at some used studio amps on ebay, and it seems like the alternative is something like a cmoy, which I doubt has enough power. Any other suggestions?

Apr 17, 2010 at 5:42 PM Post #3 of 42
I guess your best bet for the moment is to sell some of your gear and then save $20 per months for a year if you want to go directly for a decent used desktop amp. $50 to $60 could get you a decent pre-built DIY portable solution like PA2V2, MINI3, or a good CMOy.

In North America, $50 is more or less enough to buy the necessary parts (not including the case) for a reasonably good DIY desktop amp like SOHA II or Millett Starving Student. I don't know about the price of electronic parts in Japan though.

DIY is usually the most cost effective way to go, but it does require time, some skills and some tools. It may be helpful to find a local electronic DIY club or even an amateur radio club where people with experience can help you.

http://www.cavalliaudio.com/soha%20i...?page=overview

Apr 18, 2010 at 1:04 AM Post #5 of 42
well, since you have it, might as use it.