Reccomendations please
May 18, 2013 at 3:07 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 31

asianafrican

New Head-Fier
Sorry for starting a new thread for all of you that don't exactly like newbies  (such as myself) starting new threads that to you seem all the same. But here goes 
atsmile.gif

As mentioned, I'm a complete newbie when it comes to this. The best I've ever had is a Sony MDR-ZX600 and i messed up the wires those in less than a month by mistake. Now I'm tired of breaking earphones and headphones that just waste my money and barely last a year. My budget is around $300 ($350 max) and I'm planning on buying over the summer. The thing is, if I was dedicated to one genre I'd just read the other reviews and pick a pair, but I'm not xP I like music a various genres (reason is too long and bothersome to put into words and type
biggrin.gif
). Just fyi if it helps, I listen to Korean and English music
My Genres:
RnB (mostly Korean like K.Will but definitely some english ones)
Soul
Rock (metal, grunge, post-grunge, pop, alternative, punk, indie)
Hiphop/Rap
House
Dubstep (not too much)
Jazz
Blues
Pop
Classic (mostly Piano or guitar)

So far I'm thinking of:
AKG: K551, K267
Audio-Technica: ATH-WS99, ATH-M50, ATH-ANC9, ATH-ES700
Sennheiser: RS170, RS 180, HD 438, Momentum (Black)
Denon: AH-D340, AH-D2000 (if i can find any), AH-D320, AH-D1100
Ultrasone: HFI-2400
V-MODA: Crossfade M-100, Crossfade LP2

Its not limited to that list. Those are the ones I know of. Feel free to reccomend any others.

I use my Samsung Galaxy S2 as my device, and I agree with many others that it could've been A LOT better.. but Im stuck with it until next year or so. I also have an iPad (4th gen, 64gb) but I mostly use my phone since the iPad isnt the most portable. So Im thinking of purchasing a portable DAC&Amp combo if I can manage within my budget. Should I start using my iPad more? If I do, should I try the Icon iDo from Nu Force?