RCA cable specifications
Mar 3, 2014 at 2:00 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

kurt bermuda

New Head-Fier
I built my first Hi-Fi. Sweet rig. Now i need to design some RCA cables, or maybe not, depends...

Like thousands of others who post on "audiophile" boards, I'm trying to demystify the engineering and marketing claims in order to come to reasonable conclusions. I'm not going to worry about the RCA connectors, I know what I'm going to use. I'm trying to decide on the cable and it's associated characteristics. I'd prefer some flex in the cable, so solid core is probably out. I know the output voltage of one of the pieces of hardware I'm going to use, its 2.2 volts. I don't know what the receiver's resistance is at the RCA inputs.

What specs should I look for on the cable? What specs should I observe on the receiver to match the cable characteristics?

I hope that makes sense. I'm not an engineer. I don't want to talk about marketing or what the "best" is. That defeats the point of this sub-forum. I'd like to keep this electronics specific, as much as possible anyway. Thanks in advance.

Mar 3, 2014 at 2:32 PM Post #2 of 9
If running in an area with significant EMI, you need better shielding and preferably something twisted / braided together. If you're connecting to a source with a high output impedance, make sure the capacitance of the cable isn't very high or you can get marginal high-frequency attenuation that's probably still not audible. (for highish 1 nF capacitance and generally highish 1 kohm source output impedance, you get -3 dB point at 160 kHz, which is fine) I guess if you want to do things properly, you should figure out the properties of the source and amp input impedance, etc. Also, how long would the interconnect cable runs be?

That's mostly it.