question re: 15W amp -> 100W speakers
Sep 17, 2007 at 4:22 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

yobs

100+ Head-Fier
Disclaimer - I am a speaker noob.

I've recently set-up a speaker rig in my bedroom with the following gear:

PS3 -> optical out -> iBasso D1 -> LD MK III pre-amp -> Sonic Impact T-Amp -> Wharfedale Diamond 8.2s

It doesn't sound terrible, but gets blown away in detail by the k501s w/ k701 pads. The speaker rig is rather bright, and a little veiled, and I would think that this is due to the amp underpowering the speakers. I haven't been listening at overly loud volumes (the room is only 12 * 15 ft rectangle).

Particular weaknesses i'd like to fix are the lack of bass / bass presence (there is less bass than my k501s w/701 pads) also a lack of detail in general.

1) Are there any speaker amps that are relatively cheap (very cheap if possible) that could better drive this?
2) Am I better off purchasing a sub and making a 'magicBox' for the T-amp?
3) Sell lost of gear and get RS-1s instead?
rs1smile.gif

4) Would the gain of the LD MKIII Pre-amp make much diff feeding the t-amp?

Thanks

Sep 17, 2007 at 5:05 AM Post #2 of 13
Well, I can say your speakers probably are less than optimal in terms of sensitivity for the T-amp (google tells me 86 db, you probably want something like 90 for the T-amp). That being said, the t-amp should still drive the speakers well, just not at very high levels - I have heard of people with 86db speakers and t-amps that love the sound. They just can't drive it very loudly.