Question about setting up a sub for 2 channel system
Jun 17, 2003 at 7:29 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

darkclouds

Particular about his Sméagol Grammar we thinks he is.
I'd like to try out a powered sub for my two channel system but not quite sure how.

I use an integrated amp (ASL 1005DTI), with no sub out. I've just recently picked up a little creek OBH-12 passive pre cause I wanted the remote volume control. It has 2 stereo pair ouput, one fixed and one variable.

My source is the sony SCD-555ES.

Any ideas on how I should go about would be appreciated.

Jun 17, 2003 at 7:43 PM Post #2 of 15
wouldn't you want to run the speaker wires directly to the x-over, and run an additional pair from there to the speakers? Thats how I have my setup going with my MMGs and M&K powered sub.

Fred

Jun 17, 2003 at 7:54 PM Post #3 of 15
Thanks Fred,

That's what I was thinking, but I've never used a sub before. Hence I was a bit unsure.

Just to be clear, I would have to run the speaker cables from my main amp to the sub's x-over/amp and a second pair of cables from the sub's output to my speakers, right?

In that case, it would be a good idea to get a decent sub with a good x-over.

Jun 17, 2003 at 8:00 PM Post #4 of 15
yup, 2 separate pairs... kinda sucks for us college kids... I already broke my budget buying Kimber 8TC for my 2 channel setup, now that I have a sub I'm running Jolida1501RC --> Kimber 8TC --> M&K MX-90 --> Radio shack gold
frown.gif
--> MMGs... oh well, I'll hold off on the second pair till I find a good auction on ebay or have the disposable income.

Jun 17, 2003 at 8:11 PM Post #5 of 15
LOL Fred,
'em Radio shack golds sure does stand out in your system.

Well, lucky for me I have a spare pair of Zucable Julian.

So all I have to do is come up with the money for the sub
redface.gif
. I'm looking for something relatively small and affordable but doesn't sound like crap.

Jun 18, 2003 at 2:25 PM Post #8 of 15