pyschology of headphones
Apr 15, 2004 at 3:55 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

metal_monger

100+ Head-Fier
I have what I consider to be, although totally subjective, evidence of the concept that your brain adapts to headphones vs headphones break in.

I belive that, at least on the 3 cans of high quality headphones I have come accross, there is some change in the actual sound but the bigger change is in your head. Let me say that I am a musician, and a musician who has experience in the studio. I also have been a rabid heavy metal fan for close to 10yrs.

In being a heavy metal fan you come accross alot of ****ty recordings. To give a few exapmles of classic metal albums that have crappy recording quality: Death "Individual Thought Patterns" and At The Gates "Terminal Spirit Diease" come to mind. Particularly with the Death abulm wher the bass playing is nothing short of amazing, but it is hard to hear at times. The ety 4p make distinguishing all the intstruments extremely easy for me, then when listening to the same album on regular speakers I am easily able to seperate the instruements. Therefore after my ears and mind whre trained by higher quality headphones (see my sig) it is easier for me to seperate instruments on regular speakers.

Thoughts?

Apr 15, 2004 at 4:19 AM Post #2 of 6
What you have described above is similar to the experiences I have with comparing audio equipment. Once I play back a song with a pair of good speakers, I hear all sorts of new information that wasn't obvious to me before. When I go back to my crappy stereo system, I can aniticipate and notice those nuances and the nuances will obviously sound different (ie: compressed or smeared). Of course, if the nuances are completely not present with my crappy stereo system, its lack of presence may become a horrible nuisance.

Apr 15, 2004 at 4:24 AM Post #3 of 6