Putting OPA627 into Pimeta ground channel..
Feb 28, 2006 at 1:34 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 17

fewtch

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 23, 2003
Posts
9,559
Likes
31
I just received an OPA627, and (not really being a DIYer) am not sure how to put it into the ground channel socket. Do I line up the notch on the chip with the notch on the socket?

If I put it in wrong would it fry just the chip, or could it take out the whole amp?

Thnx...
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 1:44 AM Post #2 of 17

Teerawit

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 21, 2005
Posts
3,988
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by fewtch
I just received an OPA627, and (not really being a DIYer) am not sure how to put it into the ground channel socket. Do I line up the notch on the chip with the notch on the socket?


Yes

Quote:

If I put it in wrong would it fry just the chip, or could it take out the whole amp?

Thnx...


It shouldn't fry it you catch it soon enough. Definitely shouldn't take out the whole amp.
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 1:45 AM Post #3 of 17

fewtch

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 23, 2003
Posts
9,559
Likes
31
Quote:

Originally Posted by Teerawit
Yes


Thanks.

Edit -- got it, and it's working.
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 1:51 AM Post #5 of 17

Xakepa

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 2, 2005
Posts
751
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by fewtch
If I put it in wrong would it fry just the chip, or could it take out the whole amp?

Thnx...



Yes, you can. I fried this way a couple of 843s, they died in less than 10 sec before I realizied that something's wrong.

And no, you can't fry the whole amp
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 1:55 AM Post #6 of 17

fewtch

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 23, 2003
Posts
9,559
Likes
31
Quote:

Originally Posted by The Monkey
What opamp are you using in LR?


OPA627 (AU I think) in L/R, and I just put an OPA627AP in the ground channel (replacing an AD8610).

To my amazement, the amp appears to sound more detailed. I don't know why replacing the AD8610 with an OPA627 would have this effect (just the ground channel) but it does seem to. I was expecting no change in sound.
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 2:00 AM Post #7 of 17

Xakepa

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 2, 2005
Posts
751
Likes
0
That's impressive...few can "hear" the ground channel amp.

580smile.gif
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 2:00 AM Post #8 of 17

The Monkey

Monkey See, Monkey DAC
A really sick dud
Joined
Oct 28, 2004
Posts
8,010
Likes
135
Quote:

Originally Posted by fewtch

To my amazement, the amp appears to sound more detailed. I don't know why replacing the AD8610 with an OPA627 would have this effect (just the ground channel) but it does seem to. I was expecting no change in sound.



Good detailed or bad detailed?
biggrin.gif


I'm running the 8610 in my Pimeta and it is mellower than I had anticipated.
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 2:03 AM Post #9 of 17

fewtch

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 23, 2003
Posts
9,559
Likes
31
Quote:

Originally Posted by Xakepa
That's impressive...few can "hear" the ground channel amp.

580smile.gif



That's why I said "seems to"... it's probably just placebo, since it's the ground channel (!). But I'm not discounting the possibility.

Bass seems weightier too... maybe changing the ground opamp changes the overall circuit's response enough to have these effects... don't know enough about electronics to really say. I've taken a bunch of courses, but it's been a long time.

Edit -- the amp almost seems muddy sounding too... think I need to break the new opamp in for a bit and listen to a variety of recordings.
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 2:08 AM Post #10 of 17

Xakepa

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 2, 2005
Posts
751
Likes
0
Which cans are you using...with 3x627 PIMETA?

10x
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 2:12 AM Post #11 of 17

fewtch

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 23, 2003
Posts
9,559
Likes
31
Quote:

Originally Posted by Xakepa
Which cans are you using...with 3x627 PIMETA?

10x



Beyer DT880s.
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 2:35 AM Post #12 of 17

Xakepa

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 2, 2005
Posts
751
Likes
0
Hmmm...could be better with 501s.

You have to try 880 with 843s, you might like it.
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 3:50 AM Post #13 of 17

sjt78

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 15, 2005
Posts
242
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by Xakepa
Yes, you can. I fried this way a couple of 843s, they died in less than 10 sec before I realizied that something's wrong.

And no, you can't fry the whole amp



Did you just get no sound out of the amp when you fried those opamps? If not, how would you know they are damaged?
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 4:08 AM Post #14 of 17

drivel

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Posts
164
Likes
2
In my experience you get heavy distortion but still music when it starts to go. When it's totally blown, you get a nasty hum thats volume doesn't change when you move the volume knob with no music (kind of like a turntable that hasn't been grounded). Others may have experienced other things.
 
Feb 28, 2006 at 3:34 PM Post #15 of 17

fewtch

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 23, 2003
Posts
9,559
Likes
31
Quote:

Originally Posted by Xakepa
Hmmm...could be better with 501s.


It is... the synergy with OPA627s and AKG K501 is wonderful. But it's pretty nice with the DT880 as well.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top