Problems for new Fiio X3 owner.
Sep 5, 2015 at 10:28 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

eyefloater

New Head-Fier
Hi. I have Linux Mint, but can access Windows XP if needed.

I've just bought an X3 from a guy via Gumtree. I should add that it does have a micro-card.
Also i am not technically minded at all.

This is probably a common question but here goes:
I've just plugged it into the PC via a USB cable and the message: 'USB connected, please eject drives before disconnecting,' appears on the screen.

Also in my PCs file manager this is up the top of the page: 'An error occurred while accessing 'X3', the system responded: An unspecified error has occurred: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.'

A little bit later. I just pulled out the TF card and managed to get into a menu. I changed a setting from 'storage' to 'DAC.' Why?
Well when i did a search earlier something a little similar to my problem cropped up in the results. One piece of advise was to do that change. I don't know if its the right thing to do or not?
All help appreciated.
Thanks.

Sep 9, 2015 at 12:26 AM Post #2 of 4
  Hi. I have Linux Mint, but can access Windows XP if needed.

I've just bought an X3 from a guy via Gumtree. I should add that it does have a micro-card.
Also i am not technically minded at all.

This is probably a common question but here goes:
I've just plugged it into the PC via a USB cable and the message: 'USB connected, please eject drives before disconnecting,' appears on the screen.