Pro Audio Guy Seeking New Affordable IEM for Live Work
Dec 11, 2019 at 10:32 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 2

Funk-O-Meter

100+ Head-Fier
Hello in there...

It's been like 10 years since I posted anything here! And now I feel old having realized that...

I'm on a quest and I need help. I'm a live audio engineer and I'm wading through the vast sticky quagmire of all these new IEM's from all these different companies trying to find a really great, durable IEM at an affordable price. A WHOLE lot as changed in the IEM game since I last shopped for a set and I barely know which way to look. So if there's any other monitor engineers lurking here that are IEM junkies I REALLY need some advice.

The grail I seek is a durable, well-built set of IEM's with easily replaceable cables who's sound signature is somewhat conservative and similar to the standard CIEM stuff musicians use such as JH Audio, UE, etc... That usually means 2-4 way multiple BA designs, a bass boost below 200hz, a bit of top-end boost for clarity, but nothing too far from a mellow U or V kinda signature.

I'm trying to avoid overpaying (again) for a CIEM from 64 Audio or JH when I know there's plenty of great stuff these days for far far less. I now cause I've heard the difference and it ain't $2,000 worth. Gone are the days when there where only 3 companies in the game and everything started at $700 and went up. Everybody and their sister are making IEM's these days and Knowles and Sonion no longer have the market cornered on BA drivers.

Price range is $50-$500ish
A hard acrylic or metal housing is prefered such that they can take abuse
MMCX or 2 pin detachable cable is a must
Proprietary cable connectors are best avoided
Must be able to be worn over the ear
A universal model is needed for auditioning but a CIEM version is welcome in the end.
No real preference on driver type or configuration
Conservative sound signature with little or no listener fatigue

So far I've tried the following: