Powered monitor suggestions for my office
Mar 30, 2007 at 12:31 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 38

Jetlag

100+ Head-Fier
I am making a parts list for a new PC and need help with the audio.

I spend lots of time (to much time?) in front of my computer & I love to listen to music while doing so. I have to be able to hear my phone, dogs, girlfriend & doorbell so headphones are out
eek.gif
for the office (I know this statement amounts to blasphemy
very_evil_smiley.gif
on Head-Fi, sorry). My girlfriend hates it when I use my IEMs and don't respond when she speaks to (at?) me.

I am seriously considering a USB DAC 1 plus powered monitors for the audio. I'm not a gamer nor do I watch DVDs on the computer so no need for a surround setup. FWIW I ripped all of my CDs (>1200 of them) into FLAC using EAC/Secure/AccurateRip plugin. Audio quality/accuracy/resolution are paramount to me, same as you. Favorite genres: Jazz, Blues & Rock.

I have no experience whatsoever with powered monitors.

My planned setup:

FLAC>Foobar>USB DAC 1>powered monitors

(I could go with an amp & speakers after the USB DAC1 but for now am just looking at powered ones)

Listening goal: I want to hear what the recording engineer heard when creating the CD or get as close to this as possible. Components that alter, soften, add to, warm, etc the music are not to my taste. I previously owned a DAC1 and really like it.

I do not want to run a SW, so the closer the monitors can get to 20Hz-20Khz the better, I prefer <16" tall & <8" wide, and lastly <$1000/pr please (although if the sound is truly outstanding I might go somewhat higher).

With all of the above in mind, which powered monitors would you recommend?

Thanks in advance for your replies!

Mar 30, 2007 at 1:32 AM Post #3 of 38
Dynaudio BM5A they have balanced inputs which would pair superbly with the variable balanced outputs of your DAC1! Price is about $500.

Of if you have the means the BM15A

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/home/...ion?q=dynaudio