Post Your Own Music Thread
May 7, 2011 at 2:26 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 3

zzephyr27

Head-Fier
I'm really surprised I've never seen this thread done before on a forum full of audiophiles.

Post your own musical projects in this thread! Give and receive feedback. Discuss your methods, ask questions, anything. Include a description so people know what they're getting into.

I'll start!

I started playing violin when I was 10. In middle school, I picked up guitar and bass which I learned quickly from the dexterity I had developed from playing violin. At that point in my life, I was heavily interested in theory and what I believed to be "technical" in my young mind. As I aged, I became more interested in art. My tastes in music matured, and the methods by which I made music had to change. I gradually played less and less guitar, as I tried to learn about Digital Audio Workstations, which was honestly a much slower learning curve than I had ever experienced when learning to wiggle my fingers on various instruments. I was bored with such a set language for sound as art - guitar makes guitar sound, violin makes violin sound, etc. I was much more interested in the limitless possibilities of software, and pushing the limits for what sound as art is (not that I'm anywhere near that level).
That wasn't supposed to be so long and dramatic, but it's vaguely what got me to this point in my musical progression at least.

I've started making music under the name niche.

http://soundcloud.com/datniche

I have 2 tracks up. Marbles is an eclectic beat in 15/8 time signature. If you're only gonna listen to one, try that.

Oh, and also free/name your price FLAC/320 download here: http://niche.bandcamp.com/

I'm looking forward to hearing the music that other head-fi'ers make.
If this thread gets going strong, you shouldn't post your own stuff without giving feedback to others.
Post 'em!

May 9, 2011 at 2:42 AM Post #2 of 3