Possibly dumb question in regard to tube burn out
May 18, 2005 at 2:26 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

kmcdonou

100+ Head-Fier
I'm burning-in my upgraded MPX3 and installed a set of tubes that I had used in the amp the day before--Sylvania 12sn7gta as driver, two Sylvania 12sn7gts as outputs. When I plugged them in and turned on my source, I could barely hear the volume, even if I turned it up ridiculously high. I assume I have a tube that has burned out or is close to burning out.

How do I know which one it is? The gt tubes are chrome tops so I can't really see the filaments very well. I was in a hurry and my amp is tucked under a shelf, so I didn't examine the gta tube very long. Do I need to simply swap out one tube at a time until I find the culprit? This is my first time for a tube to go bad.

May 18, 2005 at 3:32 PM Post #2 of 6
if you don't have a tube tester, swapping them around is probably going to be the only way to tell for sure. if the volume is equally low in both channels, however, i bet it's the gain tube that is the culprit.

May 18, 2005 at 3:41 PM Post #3 of 6
Ah, that is a nice tip about the left and right channels. So if one is quieter than the other, then that tube is going out. I think both were quiet, so you are probably right that the gain tube is burned out.

May 18, 2005 at 4:23 PM Post #4 of 6
Quote:

Originally Posted by kmcdonou
I'm burning-in my upgraded MPX3 and installed a set of tubes that I had used in the amp the day before--Sylvania 12sn7gta as driver, two Sylvania 12sn7gts as outputs. When I plugged them in and turned on my source, I could barely hear the volume, even if I turned it up ridiculously high. I assume I have a tube that has burned out or is close to burning out.