Portable Headphone Amp
Aug 1, 2001 at 1:05 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

Nugen

Head-Fier
I am a super newbie to all this hi-fi audio stuff. I recently purchases a Grado SR-80 headphone and need an amp to take em portably. The problems is...Amps are so friggin expensive. Can someone lend me a hand with a very "cheap" amp that i can use in the meantime? (computer use and portable use). Thanks.

Aug 1, 2001 at 1:12 AM Post #2 of 16
Quote:

I recently purchases a Grado SR-80 headphone and need an amp to take em portably.

First off, welcome to Head-Fi, Nugen. On the issue of an amp, you really don't need one to make the SR-80s sound good. They are extremely efficient and sound fine straight out of a portable's headphone jack. An amp will make them sound somewhat "better," but they sound great without one. What portable will you be using?
I'll leave the soundcard issue to others here.....I have a Mac. Hope this helps.
smily_headphones1.gif

Aug 2, 2001 at 8:29 PM Post #3 of 16
Say if i WERE to get an amp anyways...Any recommendations? I'm looking more towards the solid states rather than the tubes just b/c of price ranges. Thanks.

Aug 2, 2001 at 8:35 PM Post #4 of 16
besides, the only tube amp that is even remotely portable is the earmax pro, and that costs $750. what about the airhead for $99?

Aug 2, 2001 at 8:36 PM Post #5 of 16
Or a DIY amp - DIY, or DBSE (done by some else)....

Aug 2, 2001 at 9:22 PM Post #6 of 16
DIY is the way to go. If you have a line-out on your portable I think you will notice a big difference in sound quality with a headphone amp. I was skeptical until I built one myself and discovered a much wider soundstage, cleaner sound, much less noise during silent passages, and more impact. If you listen loud, the differences will be even larger. With DIY you can taylor the amp to your Grados. If not, wait for Jan Meier's Porta-Corda.