Pocket amp v2 or this one ?
Jun 9, 2005 at 9:34 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

tayano

100+ Head-Fier
I Want an amp for my westone um2,the are low-impadance.

I'm considering between Pocket amp 2 v2,i've spoken to gary.

Or this one.
http://www4.head-fi.org/forums/showthread.php?t=123002

Is it good ? To wich well-known amp does it compare to ?

I'm new to amps,so if you have other options for around 100 $ you're welcome,

PS. I've been searching for used supermini v7/supermarco but I don't find one who's not sold in the "for sale-forum"

Jun 9, 2005 at 12:11 PM Post #3 of 10
The Pocket Amp 2 is a nice sounding amp offering a lot of value for its price. My phones are all low impedance and the PA2 drives them easily and I suspect it can be challenged by much higher impedances. The PA2 is atypical in being a low voltage amp but its sound does not suffer for it. The PA2 has a powerful sound which is very well suited for high energy forms of music. Contained in a very durable and professional grade plastic enclosure, its overall build quality is very nice. It is very small and can easily be put in a pocket. As far as sound quality goes, suffice it to say that it does produce quality output and beyond that, it qualities are subjective. There are many threads you can search for on Headfi that describe its sonic characteristics in greater detail.

Owing to its low voltage requirement, the PA2 is very economical and convenient to use, making it a very nice portable amp. It runs on two rechargeable NiMh AA batteries which you install when you get the amp. The amp has a built-in recharging circuit and includes the wall wart to recharge the batteries. After installing the batteries, you can close up the amp and forget about the batteries for a couple of years until they can no longer hold a charge. The wall wart can even be used to power the amp from AC, a feature generally found only on amps costing significantly more.