please help me...... looking for over ear headphones
Aug 23, 2013 at 6:26 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 73

rubinstein

500+ Head-Fier
Hello everyone,
I am a complete noob. I previously owned a bose inear triport phones (I did not like them at all and gifted to a friend). I am using Senniheiser CX 550 in office and Sennheiser CX 400 II with ipod on a daily basis. I also used to use Bose OE headphones for watching movies and listening for like 2 years and I broke the cord coming out left phone by moving weirdly. Now, those phones are not working properly. I also have creative zen aurvana in ear phones, which I use occasionally.

I need to work with the computer for couple of hours on a daily for another few months. I need some motivation to stay. So I have been searching for an over ear headphone since last night.
I have compared
Sennheiser HD 449
JVC HARX 700
sennheiser HD 518
sennheiser HD 558
KRK KN 8400
audiotechnica ATH WS55
Shure H 440
Sony MDR v6

I know that I did not compare the phones in the same price range.
My first preference is either HD 558 or HD 518. But I have read somewhere, their Sound quality is good along with an amp.
second preference is MDR v6. I am impressed to see these phones have been recommended in the buyer's guide 2013 of this forum and also many sound engineers still like to use these phones.

I would also like to buy an amp. I am considering Fiio E11. I choose E11 over E10, because of the difference in cost.

I am on a very tight budget (120 to 140 Euros).

I am considering Sony MDR  + Fiio E11. How would this combination perform? Is this worth for the money?
Are there any other alternatives in the price range?

Thank you very much

Aug 23, 2013 at 9:32 AM Post #2 of 73
Hello!

Welcome to Head-Fi! :D [anyone wants to continue this? XD ]