Pioneer M-10X vs. Pioneer A-35R
Jun 10, 2008 at 5:34 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

duckiedeity

100+ Head-Fier
Excuse me if this is a no brainer, but I'm new to amps and speakers (i've had a fair share of headphone rotation thanks to this forum though
tongue.gif
) and I'm wondering about the differences between these two amps. I am going to get my first pair of 'real' speakers soon (PSB Image B25) and I need an amp to go with it. I was told that the Pioneer A-35R is a really solid amp and it should serve my purposes very well. However, I have come across a (slightly used.. user gave it a 9/10 for condition on Audiogon) Pioneer M-10X which I could potentially get for $175~ shipped, which is already less than a new A-35R without shipping.

I know the MSRP of the M-10X is much more than that of the A-35R, but it's not somehow a step backwards from the A-35R in terms of quality, is it? the M-10X seems to have far fewer features/inputs/buttons/knobs/doohickeys, but then why is it so much more expensive?

If it is indeed an upgrade, I have no other worries and should buy this M-10X immediately.

Thanks.

Jun 10, 2008 at 5:56 PM Post #3 of 9
Hi,

The A-35R is an integrated pre-amp/amp. The M-10X is strictly an amp. So if you have a receiver already the M-10X is the way to go, but if you need the ability to process the signal from a source such as CD/Record/etc, then the A-35R is the way to go.

Note the A-35R is stereo only. It only has inputs for a left and right analog input. If you are looking for surround sound down the road, you will need to look at surround receivers.

Hope this helps.

Jun 10, 2008 at 6:55 PM Post #4 of 9
Quote:

Originally Posted by taifun /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Hi,

The A-35R is an integrated pre-amp/amp. The M-10X is strictly an amp. So if you have a receiver already the M-10X is the way to go, but if you need the ability to process the signal from a source such as CD/Record/etc, then the A-35R is the way to go.