phone with decent camera?
Sep 30, 2009 at 6:27 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

rhythmdevils

Member of the Trade: rhythmdevils audio
I need to get a new cell phone badly, as the 15 dollar go phone i've been using for a couple years cuts in and out constantly.

It would be to have a decent camera in my phone. My Nikon is too big to carry with me all the time.

So is there anything out there yet that is more of a camera with a phone attached, instead of a phone with a crappy camera attached? If the picture quality is bad, I'd be better off just getting a small Canon camera. I was looking at the Sony C905, but the images dont look so hot. here's a link to samples

Sony Ericsson | C905 Picture Quality

and I saw this, which looks good, but I'm not sure when/if it will come to the states
http://www.engadget.com/2008/05/26/k...n-image-proce/

Sep 30, 2009 at 6:44 PM Post #2 of 16
the phone i was gonna go for, [before someone here pointed out the n900] was the sony satio, 12mp camera, not really sure how good it is but its something to look at

my 2yo phone is doing exactly the same thing and on its very last legs lol

Sep 30, 2009 at 7:16 PM Post #3 of 16
Also consider the Samsung Pixon12 m8910, or the m8920 if you are willing to wait a few months. I've used the 8910 and it is a beautiful unit. The general rule of thumb for camera phones is the higher resolution the better. This is obviously not true with digital cameras (look what happened from the canon G10 -> G11), but in the case of phones the entire camera portion is bought as a unit from X supplier so it can be said that the higher the resolution the better the components. The killer is the 8920 though, with optical zoom... and 720p 30fps video recording...*drool*

Sep 30, 2009 at 8:45 PM Post #4 of 16
It doesn't look like either of those two Samsungs are out yet. Any idea how much they'll cost?