Perfectionist with little knowledge...
Jan 5, 2014 at 8:39 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

Zapa

New Head-Fier
Hey guys and gals,

A little info on me so y'all can (hopefully) help me out. I am a college student-athlete that loves to listen to all types of music except classical! Never been a fan of it. So here is where you all can help me out. I have around $700, of my own money, and I am deciding to get my first nice set of headphones. I am familiar with car audio but not headphones. So I have many concerns with trying to pick such expensive headphones on my own. 

I will be traveling a lot playing tennis so a comfortable pair of headphones is a must! I have been reading up on open vs closed headphones and I have a feeling an open set is not going to work for me because of the sound bleeding and disturbing others around me. 

So what is the best set of closed headphones can I get for the money (I am not against buying a nice used pair if they are in great condition). There are just way to many options for me to possibly make a decent informed decision without the help of all the headphone experts on here.  

I understand I am not going to be able to power these headphones with just an iPhone or I will just get crapy sound quality so I also need a good portable amplifier that I can take with me. I could be using these headphones for over 6 hours straight. I have no idea how much battery life these amplifiers have.

In short $700 need closed headphones and portable amplifier!

Thank you in advanced and I am excited to get my first nice set of headphones!!
Zack

Jan 5, 2014 at 9:11 PM Post #2 of 16
if you can somehow get a pair of denon d5000's i highly recommend that headphone.

Unfortunately i'm not too knowledgeable on closed headphones at this price range but, the mrspeakers Alpha dogs are getting a lot of attention lately, so you should check that out.