Other Buffers for PIMETA?
Apr 11, 2006 at 1:08 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 11

tomb

Member of the Trade: Beezar.com
The Millett guys claim OPA551PA may actually sound better than the BUF634, and works in the same socket if you jumper pins 2 and 6. Jumpering these pins do not affect the BUF634 if you plug them in, instead. They also state the OPA551P1 can't be stacked and doesn't need it.

Would this option (OPA551PA) work on the PIMETA?

(assuming it can be found - looks like it's as scarce as the BUF634)

Apr 11, 2006 at 1:14 PM Post #2 of 11
I've used it successfully in a Pimeta with an OPA2107, with AD843s it was absolutely impossible. I think it'd be fine with AD8610/20 though. If you really want a nice replacement get some Intersil HA-5002, not pin compatible but I'm no expert and I easily adapted the pinout with no extra adapter, just a bit of lead bending and some careful soldering, they sound better than the OPA551 in my opinion.

Edit: Avoid the OPA227 in ground with OPA551, while I had no equipment to measure such things, it is said to oscillate, and I did notice decreased stability with this combo, try the OPA277 if you're going the the low current OPAG route.

Ack, and the Intersil HA-5002 has no output protection so be careful not to pull the headphones out while the amp is on as it will short in the jack and cause the buffer to send its maximum current output, frying it.

Apr 11, 2006 at 1:16 PM Post #3 of 11
[edit]See amb's post below regarding the OPA551[/edit]

I'd suggest toying around with some sort of drop in diamond buffer. There are a couple of designs around and I think Sijosae (sp?) had designed one to fit in the same psyical space as a DIP8 chip, pretty slick if you ask me. I've experimented briefly with DB's in a PIMETA (see here) and found them to sound quite good. I did not have a chance to compare it to a stock PIMETA unfortunately.

Nate

Apr 11, 2006 at 1:21 PM Post #4 of 11