OSK, Sig Gen, optional: SpecAnalyzer...
Jan 4, 2010 at 1:43 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 1

TzeYang

500+ Head-Fier
Okay first and foremost I don't live in the U.S.. My country is quite a headache when it comes to the availability of such equipments at the individual consumer level. So nothing too exotic for me. I'm not experienced enough to know my needs and I certainly do not know any person of the same level that is in the same hobby to know what to get.

I asked a friend who just went to Australia and he said to get a good Tektronik digital scope and a GWInstek Signal gen. There are a lot to choose from the list and it's even harder to match the needs to the seemingly bizarre, almost unknown prices running in my country. So I'd rather just know my needs and then worry about the price and money later.
frown.gif

I'm going into discrete level amplifiers and power supplies and I know pspice is a horrible tool when it comes to predicting real life stability. I hate to overcompensate for no good reason too. Which is why I need the tools(mentioned in title) to fit the following:

-able to measure and cure real life oscillations and stability issues and making sure that the amplifier is completely stable towards the MHz range.
-good accuracy for audio use.
-able to use the tools and design an amplifier/power supply from using pen/paper, abit of simulations for tweaking, and complete it real life.
-SpecAnalyzer for the sake of measuring real life FFT but I think it's a bit optional since I get some real life THD/IMD performance data out from RMAA too.
-I'd personally be very happy if all these tools will produce me a solid beta22 level amplifier in near future.
redface.gif