Optical/digital out the equalizer of CDP quality?
Jul 15, 2005 at 11:29 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

socrates63

Headphoneus Supremus
Not too long ago, I thought analog line-out was the end-all, be-all of the output for my portable setup. And then I read about something called a DAC, and I discovered optical out.

My question is this. Since digital out being what it is, shouldn't all digital out, regardless of the player, provide the same bits, presuming the CDP read the disc correctly? So, in the same train of thought, if the CDP's optical out is used to connect to the rest of the system, shouldn't the sound be the same regardless of the player, whether it be a $100-300 CDP/DAP or $10000 CDP?

With my limited understanding, I'm sure I'm simplifying things quite a bit, so anyone care to illuminate me?

Jul 16, 2005 at 5:39 AM Post #2 of 4
This is a tough one - simple on the surface, but lots of undercurrents and ripitides. I can understand why no responses yet.

I am an engineer by training and education, so my early and first impulse would have been to agree with your premse that bits are bits, and it shouldn't matter a whit where they (the 1's and 0's) originate from. Ah, but my experience has shown differently - it does matter. There is this whole time domain thing called jitter, which I am not informed enough to discuss, but my ears tell me it's real.

As proof, I offer my simple test of comparing a Sony D-555 pcdp with optical out to a pair of serious (if aged) transport/dac combos. Specifically the Micromega T-Drive/T-Dac and the Proceed DCC/DAP. Both of those combo's are ancient by internet dating standards (10 yerars old), but either can stand up to today's oversampling/upsampling/trendy design brethren by virtue of their exquisite design, impeccable build quality, and timeless sonics.