Opinions needed on portable amp
Nov 27, 2004 at 3:04 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

merlock

New Head-Fier
Hey guys I'm looking for a portable amp for my work set-up consisting of the m-audio transit and sennheiser 280 Pro. While looking at some cmoy on ebay I came across the Pocket Amp2. Has anyone used this amp before? The builder says he uses a PA2V2 circuit. How does this compare to other cmoys using the OPA2227 OpAmp? More info about the Pocket Amp2 can be found at

http://www.electric-avenues.com/audio8.html

I'm just starting to learn about portable amps and any advice is greatly appreciated.

Merlock

Nov 27, 2004 at 4:01 AM Post #2 of 4
Quote:

Originally Posted by merlock
Hey guys I'm looking for a portable amp for my work set-up consisting of the m-audio transit and sennheiser 280 Pro. While looking at some cmoy on ebay I came across the Pocket Amp2. Has anyone used this amp before? The builder says he uses a PA2V2 circuit. How does this compare to other cmoys using the OPA2227 OpAmp? More info about the Pocket Amp2 can be found at

http://www.electric-avenues.com/audio8.html

I'm just starting to learn about portable amps and any advice is greatly appreciated.

Merlock

I have 2 amps from this builder, one is the V1 and one is the V2. They are based on the LM4881 Opamp and the guy's own award winning design, it is not a CMOY amp. The guy who builds them is a very nice guy and provides an unconditional guarantee and support for his amps.

I do not know anybody who has this amp and a CMOY (I may be wrong), in fact few here actually have this amp, though several nevertheless profer opinions on it. I can only compare this against my Headsave Classic which is noticeably better but also much more expensive($180).