NW-HD5 as source for stereo system
post-1482335
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 5

Fush

Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 9, 2005
Messages
92
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jun 9, 2005
Posts
92
Likes
11
Hi!
Do any of you have any experience using the Sony NW-HD5 as source for a bigger system? Which cables would you recommend for connecting it to the receiver/amplifier?
 
     Share This Post       
post-1482600
Post #2 of 5

bangraman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Messages
10,274
Reaction score
28
Joined
Oct 3, 2002
Posts
10,274
Likes
28
It's not that great, but it's not bad either. Any standard 3.5mm jack to 2RCA cable will work. Just make sure you put it in Line Out mode through the Audio Out menu option first.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1483436
Post #3 of 5

sohc

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Messages
33
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Posts
33
Likes
0
make sure to set it back to headphones when your done. or else youll experience some ear bleeding sound next time you use your headphones. i do this by accident regularly.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1483487
Post #4 of 5

MdRex

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 8, 2004
Messages
1,268
Reaction score
10
Joined
Sep 8, 2004
Posts
1,268
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by bangraman
It's not that great, but it's not bad either. Any standard 3.5mm jack to 2RCA cable will work. Just make sure you put it in Line Out mode through the Audio Out menu option first.



I got a question: Does putting it to "lineout" totally ignore the internal amp circuitry?
 
     Share This Post       
post-1483527
Post #5 of 5

Hasselhoffia

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
50
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Posts
50
Likes
0
Quote:

make sure to set it back to headphones when your done. or else youll experience some ear bleeding sound next time you use your headphones. i do this by accident regularly.


If you're using a remote it auto switches back to headphones. Or at least my HD3 does.

Quote:

I got a question: Does putting it to "lineout" totally ignore the internal amp circuitry?


Hard to say. It ignores the volume controls when in Line Out mode, but whether the signal's still fed through the internal amp at a set volume is another story.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top