Noob questions about portable headphone amps....
Jan 13, 2013 at 6:15 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

scolaiw

100+ Head-Fier
Hi fellow Head-Fiers!

This is my first post and I'm a bit of a noob so bear with me guys!

So I've been stalking these forums for a while and reading tonnes of threads similar to this one but given such a huge community with constant debate I can't make up my mind.

Currently, I have a pair of Pioneer HDJ 2000 which are fairly easy to drive (36 Ohm; 107 dB/mW) but from a lot of what I've read, they could still benefit from an external amp. Personally, I find for many tracks I would need to max the volume on my iPhone or laptop to really hear all the detail I want out of the music.

I also intend on upgrading my cans in future to a Grado PS1000.

So is it still worth getting an amp?

If so, I intend on purchasing the FiiO E12 when it hits the markets in march. Does that sound like a reasonable investment?

Thanks! 
beyersmile.png

Jan 14, 2013 at 6:31 AM Post #2 of 8
Shameless self bump! :D

Jan 14, 2013 at 3:35 PM Post #3 of 8
Sounds like a great investment to me! So your source would be your laptop or iphone/ipod? I think you're pretty much all set with the E12

Jan 14, 2013 at 5:26 PM Post #4 of 8
Actually, my main source will be my Walkman since I can play FLACs from it and without double amping, but there's no reason why I won't also use it with my iDevices or laptop.

Jan 14, 2013 at 5:31 PM Post #5 of 8
Quote:
This is my first post and I'm a bit of a noob so bear with me guys!
So I've been stalking these forums for a while and reading tonnes of threads similar to this one but given such a huge community with constant debate I can't make up my mind.