Noob question: Should I buy a sound card if I mostly only listen to music on Youtube w/headphones?
Jan 15, 2016 at 4:17 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

WhatAmIDoing

New Head-Fier
Hi guys, like my title and username suggests I'm a noob who doesn't know what they're doing. Both in the audiophile sense and in general in all aspects of life. I own a pair of ATH-M50s and  a pair of eGrado's and listen to most of my music with my PC, mostly using youtube. I own a cheap $20 xonar sound card but lately I've been wondering if it's worth it for me to upgrade to a better one. I don't need to connect any amps or extra speakers or anything, I basically just need to make the most out of my headphones and the ****ty quality mp3's that tend to get uploaded to youtube. I also listen to music with my laptop so any advice there is appreciated as well.

Thanks

Jan 16, 2016 at 12:39 AM Post #2 of 8
When you aren't listening to anything, do you hear any hiss in the headphones if you turn the volume up a little?  Do you hear quiet, but funny, noises through the headphones when you run certain programs or you do something that uses a lot of hard drive access?  When you listen to music at normal volumes, are you unhappy with the quality of the music?

If you can't answer "yes" to any of those questions, I'd leave it alone.  Keep in mind for the last one you don't want to upgrade anything if it's just a few YouTube videos with the problem -- they're not optimized for sound quality, after all.

Jan 16, 2016 at 1:53 AM Post #3 of 8