Noob looking to get first full-size. Questions about HD-600
Jun 14, 2015 at 6:36 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

seals

100+ Head-Fier
Hey guys,

I've had quite a few medium-range iems, but I think it's time to finally get a nice home setup. At this point I think I'm going to get the HD-600s, especially given the $300 price tag. I have a few questions though, since I'm really new to full-size cans.

Disclaimer: I am not a hard-core audiophile by any means. Minor differences of a few percent won't have any effect on me, as I don't mind. Please keep this in mind when answering my questions below.

1) Is a $100 amp good enough to get optimal sound quality out of them? If so, which amp would be recommended?
2) If I have them plugged into an amp, does it matter what source the sound is coming from? For example, I would like to use them while on my macbook air. Would the lack of a dedicated audio card make them sound horrible, or is this nullified by the amp?
3) Is 320 kbps audio good enough for these? I'm guessing 128 kbps would sound pretty bad?
4) Is amazon an okay place to purchase these? I swear I remember reading something a long time back about there being chinese knock-offs being sold as the legit thing there, but maybe I'm imaging things...

Thanks so much!

Jun 14, 2015 at 6:50 PM Post #2 of 13
1) Questionable. Technically yes, but in practice no. They will sound "thin" but serviceable out of a lesser amp. Of course you won't notice it until you get a better amp. So ignorance is bliss. heh.
2) Should be fine. 
3) Yes. Yes.
4) Yes it's fine. There might have been knock-offs in an isolated incidence, but that's not standard Amazon fare. 

The 600 is a very nice headphone. 

Jun 14, 2015 at 6:53 PM Post #3 of 13
  1) Questionable. Technically yes, but in practice no. They will sound "thin" but serviceable out of a lesser amp. Of course you won't notice it until you get a better amp. So ignorance is bliss. heh.
2) Should be fine. 
3) Yes. Yes.