Noisy school studio environment headphones/help amp
Nov 23, 2009 at 5:39 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

kayaker3057

Head-Fier
Ok, so this is my first post here. I have been reading on this site for the last two or three weeks extensively. I currently have a pair of Sony MDRNC7's. I have listened to Dr. Dre Beats, all versions of Bose headphones, and a pair of Grado Sr-60. So I really am a newbie as far as listening to headphones goes. I was a car audio nut, and am making the transition to headphones. I am an architecture student and work in a large(and consequently loud) studio environment for several hours a day. I listen to music from a laptop via mostly mp3 and some lossless.(I am in process of converting most to lossless) I listen to mostly rock, easy listening music, and classical. Coldplay, Switchfoot, John Mayer, etc. I am willing to spend up to $3-400, but would like to stay closer to $300.

What is important to me:
-balanced sound with forward mids
-must be comfortable
-must be closed, full sized
-detachable cord is a plus
-a thick cord is a plus
-on-ear is not acceptable at all, period
-amp/dac must be able run without batteries(either wall or usb powered)

Headphones I am already considering:
-Ultrasone pro750s
-Maestro GMP 8.35D(This is my 1st choice so far, although I don't care for how they look, although MB Quart produces the sound I like the best in car audio)
-Shure SRH840

USB DAC/amp I am considering:
-NuForce Icon
-HA NG27
-AUNE HIFIDIY.NET mini USB DAC + amp
-Hifiman EF2(maybe, at the very extreme top of my budget for that portion)

I appreciate your help/comments/suggestions very much! Thanks!

Nov 23, 2009 at 6:19 AM Post #2 of 18
My recommendation are:

1. GMP 8.35 D Monitor.
2. K-271 MKll (if you love the balanced sound with forward mids)
3. You can try any other Ultrasone just not the 750.

What is your music source, the computer?

Nov 23, 2009 at 6:59 AM Post #4 of 18
Quote:

Originally Posted by kayaker3057 /img/forum/go_quote.gif