Newbie here, need some advice - sennheiser HD 558 + Asus xonar dx
Mar 27, 2014 at 12:22 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 31

snakesoul

New Head-Fier
Hello everyone,

My first post here:)
So after reading a lot about which headphones I should buy, I opted for sennheiser HD 558.
Previously I had sennheiser HD 439, but for some reason, those cans sounded a bit bassy and also the sound was some kind of muffled.
I use headphones mostly for gaming (videos, music) but it's about 80% for gaming.. have them paired with an Asus xonar dx. From what I read this card doesn't have inbuilt amp.
After I purchased the 558 and plug it in the sound was way better, (soundstage ) but also I found:
- it's a bit bassy and muffled... What can it be? Is this normal?
- Does the sound card have some problem(defective)?
- Also and last question, should I upgrade to an creative z?
I thought 558 would have a more neutral sound and less bass/muffle..(at least one of the models I tried a few time ago were perfect.. I can't recall of it was the old 555 or 515).
Thanks in advance,
Edit: i set in windows audio properties, 5.1, in asus software, i have it set to headphones, 44.khz, and for gaming dolby headphone. Equalizer it's default (i don't know if this help).
Sorry if i posted in the wrong place, if you think i should post in the headphones(sennheiser hd 518, hd 558, hd 598 Appreciation thread) be free to tell me :)

Mar 27, 2014 at 12:32 PM Post #2 of 31
Sometimes sound cards can make your audio a bit bassy, the Creative Z is the same. 
This can be corrected, by changing some of the setting. I'm not sure how to do this but I hope it helps.

Mar 27, 2014 at 12:41 PM Post #3 of 31
The Xonar DX does not have a headphone amp. It's just a line out. I have no idea how well the HD558s match up with that, but it would be a problem for many headphones for getting optimal SQ.

Mar 27, 2014 at 2:58 PM Post #4 of 31
Hi JoyboyP.