Newbie audiophile here, how can i tell if i need an amp?
Jan 11, 2012 at 5:06 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 27

acme15

New Head-Fier
Will it just be obvious to me? too quiet or constrained? tinny? unbalanced etc? 
I have never used decent gear before, so i have no idea how 'good' something 'good' should sound if that makes sense.

Jan 11, 2012 at 11:15 PM Post #2 of 27
if you used appe earbuds..lo:):p

Jan 13, 2012 at 1:41 PM Post #6 of 27
Talking portable...three good reasons to get an amp:

1.  You need more volume than you can get currently with your rig.

2.  Your source has an output (lineout or digital) besides the regular headphone out.  In many (actually most) cases, you can get a cleaner signal and improve the quality of what you hear.  With a lineout you'll need an amp, with a digital output you'll need a DAC and an amp (or a DAC/amp combo).

3.  Your headphones get loud enough, but they are known to be a model that requires more power to perform at their best.  An amp can assist with these harder to drive headphones and help eliminate that thin sound (among other things) that is common to underdriven power hungry headphones.   

Jan 14, 2012 at 4:45 AM Post #7 of 27

Quote:

2.  Your source has an output (lineout or digital) besides the regular headphone out.  In many (actually most) cases, you can get a cleaner signal and improve the quality of what you hear.  With a lineout you'll need an amp, with a digital output you'll need a DAC and an amp (or a DAC/amp combo).

3.  Your headphones get loud enough, but they are known to be a model that requires more power to perform at their best.  An amp can assist with these harder to drive headphones and help eliminate that thin sound (among other things) that is common to underdriven power hungry headphones.   

agree with the no. 2. In my view, I would consider getting an amp if I feel that my rig are not playing it at the maximum potential. 

Jan 15, 2012 at 1:25 AM Post #8 of 27