newb portable amp question(s)
Apr 4, 2009 at 9:47 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

nkk

500+ Head-Fier
What is a portable amp? What does it do? I have learned that it increases amps out so that it can drive headphones with more resistance, but that leads to my next questions--what else does it do, and why does the resistance of the headphones change? What is the benefit ov say a 10 ohm resistance over a 30 ohm. I get that power goes up with resistance assuming constant current, but does this translate to just a higher volume, or is there actuall more bass given or better sound quality by a portable amp?

I am looking at getting a fiio e5. What will it do?

I am sorry for these very basic questions, but I did not find a faq, and I am a newb, so...

THanks,
Nkk

Apr 5, 2009 at 3:03 AM Post #2 of 6
Quote:

Originally Posted by nkk /img/forum/go_quote.gif
What is a portable amp? What does it do? I have learned that it increases amps out so that it can drive headphones with more resistance, but that leads to my next questions--what else does it do, and why does the resistance of the headphones change? What is the benefit ov say a 10 ohm resistance over a 30 ohm. I get that power goes up with resistance assuming constant current, but does this translate to just a higher volume, or is there actuall more bass given or better sound quality by a portable amp?

I am sorry for these very basic questions, but I did not find a faq, and I am a newb, so...

THanks,
Nkk

Welllllll... I'll do a couple posts...
1) a) What is an amp? A portable amp, or any amp in general, amplifies the signal in order to power low sensitivity and/or high impedance headphones. Rule of thumb, if your headphones are more than 50 bucks, you'll want at least a portable amp (gary's PA2V2, Fiio series...).
b)What does an amp do? An amp also has the bonus effect of 'clarifying' the sound. The lower voltage and current of an unamped setup can lead to a muddy response and lack of detail.