New to headphone DAC/AMPs, advice needed
Sep 30, 2019 at 3:47 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

marcus2704

500+ Head-Fier
I am new to the world of headphone DAC/AMPs and I am having a bit of a panic as I have ordered a Mytek Liberty DAC and Hifiman Arya headphones which I intended to control via my Bluesound Node 2 streamer.

The accommodation I am at does not have internet or Wifi network, however I have a Samsung S10 with unlimited 4G data which I hoped would allow me to tether the Node 2, but this does not appear to be possible despite numerous attempts.

Could I connect my phone direct to the Mytek and ditch the Node 2, using a USB C to USB B cable? Would the phone source inhibit the performance of the Mytek, or would that be mostly irrelevant as it is itself a DAC/AMP, my own understanding being that the phone would only be there as a mechanism to select music to play so wouldnt matter a great deal. I also have a laptop I could use, an Astell & Kern SR15 and even an IPad.

Also, if there are any suggestions as to other DAC/AMPs I should be looking at I would appreciate it. I was almost swayed by the Audiolab M-DAC+ but felt I didnt need most of the features it offered.

Any suggestions to help me out of this hole would be appreciated, I am tempted to cancel the order as clearly this needs more planning and research..!

Last edited:
Oct 1, 2019 at 1:26 AM Post #2 of 6
I need to make a decision on this in the next two hours so any feedback would be appreciated :)

Oct 1, 2019 at 2:39 AM Post #3 of 6