New to audiophile headphones - is it okay to EQ?
Jun 1, 2020 at 5:44 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

phatbetty

New Head-Fier
Hi all,

So I'm new to the world of "nice" or "audiophile" headphones and I picked up the Massdrop X Meze 99 Noirs.

I have an Audiotechnica Turntable, ArtDJPre-II, and a Pioneer AV receiver with Tannoy SRM10B speakers.

Listening to these phones, I would say they sound really nice, but a little boomy on the bass and maybe losing the vocals a tiny bit (the smaller pads cleaned up the bass a bit I think). (Maybe there are more technical terms for this, but it's the only way I know how to describe right now). So I ran them through my graphic equalizer, dropped the bass down some and raised the mid-upper and all of sudden I feel like it opened and brightened up the music so nicely. It actually opened them up to sound like a "headphone" version of my speakers.

So my question... should I return these headphones for something more open, like I was able to recreate with the EQ, or is it okay/appropriate to listen to them EQd?

If I were to exchange them, would something like the DT770 be what I'm looking for? Something else?

There are so many headphones and choices and pieces of equipment, I don't know if I should be trying to the find the "perfect" headphones or enjoy the hobby of tweaking and adjust what I have? If that makes sense?

Or am I already experiencing and realizing there are different headphones for different kinds of music and I'm going to have to ultimately own a couple sets? LOL!

OR do I need to buy a DAC instead of the receiver? Again SO many options. :)

Thanks for all your input/expertise!

Last edited:
Jun 1, 2020 at 6:57 PM Post #2 of 10