new the the game.
Sep 6, 2015 at 3:06 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

urakur

New Head-Fier
Greetings all.

I am new to this wonderful world of personal sound pleasure. Previously my mobile sound needs have been meet successfully with a pair of in-ear B&W C5 as the source was mainly iPhone and Mac Airbook during plane travel.

Anyways I decided to step up to a decent pair of over ear units and to cut a very long story short I needed up purchasing a pair of AKG 551.

After a short period of time I have come to the realisation I am in need of a portable amplifier/DAC unit to enhance/correct the sound from my source to provide a far more pleasurable experience with the 551's. 
So in short I am seeking some direction on this forum to a portable and ease of use solution at a cost effective price.

Cheers Stephen

Sep 6, 2015 at 3:12 AM Post #2 of 4
Howdy! And welcome to the forum! What's your budget and necessary features? The K551 is a pretty neutral/borderline analytical closed headphone, The Massdrop K553 is more warm. They are all on the easy side to drive.

Cam you do open headphones?

Sep 6, 2015 at 3:24 AM Post #3 of 4

Thanks for the response.

I already have the 551's in my stable and have found that they are picking up some of the deficiencies of  my source material.

I reside in Australia so there are some limitations to my supply chain. I have been looking in the sub AUD$200 range to keep it all real and inline with the cost of the headphones.

I have been looking but am unsure of what combination of amplifier or DAC I should head towards.

I personally like a sound that leans towards neutral but must have the power to provide a nice sound stage. My main gripe at present is not neccisarrily that of the 551's but the presence of background noise/hiss with some recordings that are acceptable on my HI FI system.

Edit: I should add that most of the source material is ALAC.

Sep 7, 2015 at 12:05 PM Post #4 of 4