New on the Head-fi field - Just received the Sennheiser 595's. Got some questions!
Dec 6, 2011 at 3:52 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 17

Wolvaras

New Head-Fier
Greetings to all you air-vibrating enthusiasts!

If you're not interested in my entry post, just skip the text until you go past the asterix line for the meat of the thread.

I'm quite new at this whole audio business. In recent years, I've come to appreciate sound and music in all forms of media. To that end, I've put a bit of money into some (sparse by comparison here) sound equipment. Actually, it's just some headphones, and that's it!

Being mostly a gamer, I fell into the pit that was the "Gamer headset" fad. Specifically, the Logitech G35's. They weren't bad for me per sé. I liked the design, the isolation it provided, and the vastly increased sound quality it gave relative to my previous 10 dollar investments. My pair sadly broke twice at the right ear cup hinge. Rather than going through the whole RMA process again, I decided to step it up a bit and go for some real earcans. After a bit of research and omitting the phrase "gaming" in any of my searches, I came up with the pair that would suit me most - The Sennheiser HD 595's. And after a long weekend and then some, they've finally arrived at my doorstep.

Having not much to compare them to, I just put 'em on and fired up some of my favorite Youtube songs.

Wow.

The sound was crystal clear for me. Hearing everything working together in a way that make me feel I was in the front row was an awesome feeling. Having listened to a somewhat wide variety of tracks, I do have some questions I'd like to get verified, if possible.