New here and new to high end audio. Have questions about HD800..
Sep 8, 2014 at 12:15 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

Armament

100+ Head-Fier
Salutations friends! I literally made this account 10 minutes ago, however I have been stalking these forums for a few months now. Anyway.. I had questions about the HD800 headphones. I'll start from the beginning. In the times of past I have been listening to mostly the earphones that come stock with players and phones. Also listening to low quality mp3 files. After a while I wondered if there was something better. Sure enough, I discovered FLAC files. But they sounded exactly the same through my stock earphones. I did intensive research and decided to pick up some Shure SE535s. Music finally sounded more alive and I was hooked. The problem I have with those is.. the highs seem to hurt my ears after a while and bass seems weak. I tried to mess with the equalizer and trying other players for PC but they all seem to be the same. In the end I stuck with Winamp because of it's simplicity to use. I did research and learned that onboard sound supposedly sucks. So I went ahead and purchased a Creative ZXR sound card. The sound quality did not feel like it improved much, if at all. I then thought then I might need some new in-ears.. or even headphones! Did some research, and the word "ATH-M50" kept popping up. Found a sweet deal on them for around $75 so I went ahead and bought them. They sound great, not as good as the SE-535s, but the highs don't kill my ears after extended use. BUT the ear cups now hurt my ears after an hour or so. Basically I'm just saying **** it and want to buy some of the best headphones that are #1 in comfort and very close to that in sound so that I won't have to spend any more money. The HD800s came up multiple times with people saying they are the most comfortable they've ever tried and seem to disappear after a while of use. They also say quality is some of the best they've ever heard. I was about to or