Neutral amplifier for HiFiMAN HE-500 in a 200-600$ (or euro) range?
Sep 6, 2015 at 5:12 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

U6astik

100+ Head-Fier
Dear all,

While I am waiting for my beloved HE-500 to come, I'd like to ask for your advice and opinions regarding the best neutral amplifier for HE-500 for classical music.

I am going to feed the amplifier with a my portable iBasso DX50 player via a 3.5mm-to-RCA cable.

Here is a pretty long list of my needs:

• I am a student and I travel by plane six times or more annually. Thus the amplifier should not be too heavy. Easily transportable, but not portable.
  • The amplifier should not emphasize any frequencies, it should be as neutral as possible. (No emphasis on attenuation of bass, midrange, treble)
  • It should withstand brutal vibration, as it will be transported in my carry on hand luggage and, believe me, I drag it along uneven roads alot :p
  • The amplifier should have good or very good specifications (low output impedance, low THD, high SNR, A class preferably..)
  • Price range is within 200-600 dollars or euros, if it costs more and fit into most of my demands, I will need to save up to buy it later (which is of course not desirable)
  • If the amp you advise me is a DAC/AMP combo it is to have a coaxial input (my iBasso has only coaxial out)
  • It should act as an ideal voltage source (same voltage into different impedances) or be very close to it:
1000 mW @ 50 Ohm (7.071 Volts)
500 mW  @ 100 Ohm (7.071 Volts)
167 mW  @ 300 Ohm (7.071 Volts)

I have shared my concern in the HE-500 thread, but then thought it's probably not the right place for such questions.
Hope to receive your responses.

Regards

Sep 6, 2015 at 5:35 PM Post #2 of 9
My initial choices were: Corda Jazz, Schiit Asgard 2, Schiit Lyr 2